Neophyte artist

Do you have a question about writing, drawing, or rendering comix and stories? Would you like to learn more about the process of creating sequential art? Leave a message here and start a discussion. Who knows what you'll learn!

Neophyte artist

Postby Big Kahuna » December 22nd, 2012, 4:20 pm

Hello, all. My name is Big Kahuna. I have been writing for a few years, mostly in the area of mind control, and am becoming interested in adapting some of my work into comics. My exploratory pieces can be found here.

I expect my first few attempts will be fairly pathetic, as I have much to learn. Story and art are of course the most difficult aspects, but in attempting to construct my own work I stumbled over something I hadn't thought about - word balloons. Is there a quick and easy way to make them? I work exclusively in Poser (tight budget), and I suppose I can get a cheap, used copy of Photoshop if need be. I'm a Mac guy. I like the style shown in Finister Foul's work below. I think the shading helps bring it out. Any help anyone wants to give would be greatly appreciated.

I hope it's okay that I used this artwork. It was in the free area.
Big Kahuna

Re: Neophyte artist

Postby Northern Chill » December 22nd, 2012, 8:32 pm

Any current version of Photoshop Elements has the ability to add word balloons included with it....I think it can be obtained separately from the full blown Photoshop at a much cheaper price. In fact, some new PC's may come with it pre-installed.

Good luck on your adapting plans....I've seen your text stories in the past and enjoy them very much.

Northern Chill
Check out past covers from stories found here as well as text stories I've written at http://nchill.deviantart.com

"What does this story need?...more Franbot!!!"
Northern Chill

Postby Big Kahuna » December 23rd, 2012, 6:53 am

I will definitely look into Elements. I checked out your page. Excellent, excellent work. I especially like the gray-coated fembots.
Big Kahuna